#truththursday

check it out,

no one likes to be lied too but peoples feelings are hurt when they are told the truth…

So. In Honor of #truththursday

You should be truthful. Not to be rude. But to speak truth.

5 Truths for me..

1. Truth is…I do not like mornings but I miss saturday morning cartoons/breakfast with my family

2. Truth is…I am a repeater…of stories, outfits & hairstyles

3. Truth is…I believe in Blue Like Jazz; the book, the movie & even Donald Miller more than most folks.

4. Truth is…I have small love for animals… I am not a big fan but I am slowly getting to like them.

5. Truth is…I have a few projects that are all only 75% done. (my book, art, songs, etc etc)

SO BOOM.

Those are my truths…

&

here is #whywednesday

I asked a few folks if it is okay for folks in church leadership to drink alcoholic beverages…

here are 7 responses…

7. It’s not okay to drink cause for one your set to a higher standard and probably associate drinking with sin more times than not in the church and to be a good soul winner you have to go 2 miles from them to go one.

6. First of all, whether in leadership or not, the consumption of alcohol is not a sin. We all know that Jesus drank wine & that Paul even told Timothy to drink wine. However, I believe that if you do choose to drink alcohol it should be done with discretion and conviction. It should be done in such a way that does not cause another believer to struggle with their own conscience or to fall into sin themselves. This is especially true as a leader seeing as how your actions will more directly affect and influence those who look to you. As a leader you do have to make decisions and sacrifices that others may not. But that’s what makes you a leader, doing what is in the best interest of others rather than yourself. If you dont agree with that then your probably aren’t really a leader and I am not saying its okay to get toasted and drink everything in sight because “there’s grace,” but on the other end im not saying your going to hell if you have a drink or two. So if you decide to drink alcohol remember to do it according to your conviction & to use discretion so that your choices don’t hinder those around you. Is a drink really worth your effectiveness to share Christ? Is it worth your reputation as a minister or a leader in the church? I can tell you first hand, it is not.

5.Depends on what your leadership says, If there are guidelines then obey them if there aren’t then you are at your conviction and reputation (Romans 14) however, your role as a leader is to keep direction in focus, could drinking blur the vision for others? If so, then its not worth it.

4. It would be okay if you didn’t indulge in alcohol. Jesus drank glasses of wine. Doesn’t mean go crazy drunk but two glasses of wine wouldn’t make anyone tipsy so its fine.

3. I don’t think its okay because you being in leadership you’re an influence in other people. If their looking up to you, you don’t want to do something that you wouldn’t want them to do. Read 1 Timothy 3.

2. Yes, you can have a few drinks while your in leadership, as long as you have self control and don’t bring it into the church. even though you are a role model does not mean you have to give up past time fun with your friends.

1. Not ok, what we do reflects not only on ourselves, but also on Christians at large. what we choose to participate in or not in says a great deal about who we are and how people perceive our faith. Not a sin- if only for what will some thing. My single greatest reason for abstaining from alcohol is that it would truly lessen my leadership potential..if leadership is a measure of who is following I will do everything within my ability to become who God has called me up to be. I can make the hard choices and see the value in giving up things that may not seem to matter. The line of separation that you draw should reflect how you are marked and chosen by God.

so there you have it folks…eat the meat spit out the bones.

If you’re struggling with alcoholism & your in a leadership position; tell someone in private who is over you & pray.

Leave a Reply

